January 31, 2023


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

Alliance of Women Film Journalists Awards 2022

3 min read

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists announced the winners for the 16th season in 2022, including a three-way tie between “Banshes of Inishreen,” “Everything Everything All at Once” and “Women Talking.”

Each film won four awards, including best picture for “The Banshees of Inisharine” and best director for Sarah Polley (“Woman Talking”).

There were several other categories covered, including Best Cinematography, which went to Claudio Miranda for “Top Gun: Maverick” and Polly Morgan for “The Woman King.” Best Supporting Actress also saw a tie between Kerry Condon for “The Banshees of Inisharine” and Jamie Lee Curtis for “Everything Everything All at Once.”

“We are particularly proud that this year’s list of member-curated nominees includes a number of female contestants in non-gender-specific categories. And there are our female winners in that category, including multi-nominated Sarah Polley and EDA Award for Best Director for ‘Woman Talking’. “We expect to see similar results at this year’s Oscars and various guild awards. as well as with other critics’ award groups.”

See the full list of winners below.

AWFJ Best Award

(These awards are presented to women and/or men without regard to gender.)

best movie

“Descendants of Inisharin”

best director

Sarah Polley – “Women Speak

Best Screenplay, Original

“The Banshees of Inishreen” – Martin McDonagh

Best Screenplay, Adapted

“Women Speak – Sarah Polley and Miriam Toews

Best Documentary

“All Beauty and Bleeding” – Laura Poitras

Best Animated Film

“Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” – Guillermo del Toro and Mark Gustafson

best actress

Michelle Yeoh – “Everything Everything All At At”

Best Actress in a Supporting Role (Tie)

Kerry Condon – “The Banshees of Inisharin”
Jamie Lee Curtis – “Everything Everywhere at Once”

best actor

Colin Farrell – “The Banshees of Inisharin”

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Kay Huy Kwan – “Everything Everything All At Once”

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director

“Women Talking” – John Buchan and Jason Knight

Best Cinematography (tie)

“Top Gun: Maverick” – Claudio Miranda
“The Woman King” – Polly Morgan

Best edit

“Everything Everywhere All At At” – Paul Rogers

Best Non-English-Language Film (tie)

“Decision to Quit”

EDA Women’s Focus Award
(This award honors women only).

Best Female Director

Gina Prince-Bythewood – “The Woman King”

Best Female Screenwriter

Sarah Polley and Miriam Toews – “Women Speak”

Best Animated Female

Connie – Isabella Rossellini “Marcel the Shell with Shoes On”

Best Female Breakthrough Performance

Daniel Deadwiler – “Duration”

Outstanding achievement by a woman in the film industry

Viola Davis – For creating “The Woman King” as her lifelong passion project and creating opportunities for other women creatives.

EDA Special Mention Award

Grand Dame Award for defying ageism

Emma Thompson

Most Aggressive Lovers Age Difference Award

“Future Crime” – Viggo Mortensen born 1958 and Lea Seydoux born 1985

He deserves a new agent award (Note: This is not a put down. On the contrary, it suggests that the actor is better than the role he is given.)

Ana de Armas for “Blonde”.

A most daring performance

Emma Thompson – “Good Luck to You, Leo Grande”

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Award

“Jurassic World: Dominion”

AWFJ Hall of Shame Award (Female and Male Eligible)

Harvey Weinstein is for everything and forever

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *