October 16, 2021


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

Big win at Harry Styles, Sister Jovi 2021 Ivory Novello Awards

5 min read

Harry Styles, Bon Jovi and Tears for Fears were among the big winners on stage at the 2021 Ivory Novello Awards in London – but the off-stage performances took on a larger size.

Coincidentally, the award, which honors excellence in songwriting and composition, was held on the same day at Universal Music Group IPO. But, as the major music company was heading for a market cap of more than $ 50 billion at the time of its market debut, the lyricists on whom the assessment was partially built were competing for creative glory.

It was an embarrassing day not losing a lot of participants. In his inaugural address, Crispin Hunt, chair of Ivers Academy – a leading lyricist as well as the head of the #Fix Streaming campaign – said that “music owes its writers a huge debt … about 40 40 billion, according to the Amsterdam Stock Exchange.” Refers to less projected evaluation.

Later, super producer Neil Rogers presented John with special international awards for his sisters Jovi and Richie Sambora, when he announced: “The lyricist deserves more money. We do a nice business, but people forget that everything starts with a song. His comments echoed an open letter to the music industry from his partner in the fast-growing hippogenesis song, Mark Mercuriades.

But, of course, it wasn’t all about money. Ivorys, which was first presented in 1956, has been the most touching music award of all time and after 28 months of absence of covid-19-application, there was no lack of passion in the air at Grosvenor House to re-engage the art to celebrate the art of music.

Covid also limits the amount of star names who may appear, making sure it’s really lyricists who take the limelight. So there was no Dave-indigenous hip-hop star who stormed the UK charts this year – honoring his co-author Fraser T. Smith for collecting the Best Contemporary Song award for “Children of the Internet”. The two have won for the third time in four years, with Smith praising the greatest “creative journey of my career.”

Harry Styles was also absent when it was supposed to collect PRS for Music Most Performed Work Gong for “Ador You”, his first award at the event. Instead co-author Amy Allen went ahead and praised the star for making her and her co-writers Kid Harpoon and Tyler Johnson equal partners from the start.

And it wasn’t Celeste or Jamie Hartman when the pair won the best lyricist of the year, leaving Hartman’s publisher Annette Barrett to read a speech by the lyricist and compliment herself, for the entertainment of the room.

Those who could have been present must have enjoyed their moment. Liane La Havas cried while collecting the Best Album award with co-author Matthew Hales (aka Aqualung) for her self-titled record.

Veteran electronic pioneers Goldfrap – aka Allison Goldfrap and Will Gregory – have won the Ivory Inspiration Award presented by mute label boss Daniel Miller. “Being able to write songs is a pretty cool thing,” Goldfrap said. “To do something that touches other people that constantly moves my mind.”

Ivers continues the tradition of celebrating great lyricists who miss other award ceremonies, handing out outstanding song collections to Roland Orzabal and Kurt Smith of Tears for Fears, “Mad World”, “Sowing the Seed of Love” and “Everyone Wants to Rule the World.” “

Not that the reunited pair takes things too seriously. Orzabal sang on stage with her own hits and listed a list of their accomplishments before thinking, “I’m not sure what I’m more proud of: ‘Seeds of Love’, America Breaking Up or We Have Our Own Parking Space at Bath Spa Waitrose.”

Smith smiled before thanking her, “We wouldn’t be here without two people … us!”

Meanwhile, the absence of John Bon Jovi – he sent a video message, although it took us a potential Bon Jovi reunion – meant his former songwriting partner Richie Sambora, who left the band in 2013, was able to take the limelight. He rightly gave a long, somewhat murky speech that will live on in the memory of the crowd for a long time, if not, you doubt, Sambora’s own.

Sambora has praised hippocampus boss Mercuriadis, who is disrupting the theatrical publishing business by buying Sambora’s own ক 2 billion song catalog. But the former Bon Jovi man finally hit the right note because he declared the enduring power of songwriting: “A note can stop time, a light can save a life and a song can change the world.”

In response to the upcoming government’s recent investigation into the economy of crowds and music streaming after parties gossiping about the IPO, many Ivory attendees will hope it turns out to be true.

The full list of Ivor Novellos winners is given below:

Best album

“Lian La Hawas”
Written by Matthew Hales and Lian La Havas
Performed by Lian La Havas
Universal Music Publishing and Warner Chapel Music have released in the UK

The best contemporary songs
“Children of the Internet”
Written by Dave and Fraser T. Smith
Future utopia performed by achievement. Dave and S. Devlin
Published by Warner Chapel Music and Cobalt Music Publishing in the UK

Best Basic Movie Score
“Calm down with the horse”

Written by Blanck Mass
Published by BMG UK in the UK
Best Original Video Game Score
“Ori and Wis of Wis”
Written by Gareth Cocker

Musically and lyrically the best songs
“God’s own child”

Written by Barney Lister and Obangzier
Performed by Obongjayar

Published by UK Promised Land Music-Universal Music Publishing and Beggars Music
The best television soundtrack

Written by Geoff Barrow, Ben Salisbury, The Insects
Published by Sony Music Publishing in the UK

Outstanding song collection
Roland Orzable and Kurt Smith

PRS for music Most edited work
“I like you”

Written by Amy Allen, Tyler Johnson, Kid Harpoon and Harry Styles
Performed by Harry Styles

Artist Publishing Group West-Cobalt Music Publishing, Concord Music Publishing, Universal Music Publishing published in UK

Rising Star Award with Apple Music

Willow Cain

The best lyricist of the year
Celeste and Jamie Hartman
Special international awards, including Apple Music

John Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora

Ivers Classical Music Award

Mark-Anthony Tarnage

Ivers Inspiration Award
Allison Goldfrap and Will Gregory

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *