March 21, 2023


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

‘Everything Everywhere All At One’ leads the LEJA award winners

3 min read

The Latino Entertainment Journalists Association (LEJA) handed out its awards for the year, including 10 wins for “Everything Everything All at Once” for best picture, director for Daniels and actress for Michelle Yeoh.

The sci-fi comedy led the nominations with 16, the most in the organization’s history.

Paramount’s “Top Gun: Maverick” had the second-most wins with three for best cinematography for Claudio Miranda, sound and stunt design.

“I am incredibly excited to select our distinguished Latino critics, journalists and writers from across the country,” said LEJA Founder and President Clayton Davis. “I applaud our small but mighty organization for selecting such a respectable group of films from artists we all love and admire.”

“Wakanda Forever” won awards for costume design (Ruth E. Carter) and original song (“Lift Me Up” by Thames, Ludwig Goransson, Rihanna and Ryan Coogler).

“Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” won two awards for animated film and adapted screenplay. In addition, the LEJA membership selected Guillermo del Toro as the recipient of the 2023 Rita Moreno Lifetime Achievement Award.

In a statement, the agency said, “The highest honor for a career that exemplified Latino excellence, Guillermo del Toro has been a tireless advocate of cinema in all its beautiful forms. Never tied to a single genre, he has starred in “Cronos” (1992), “Mimic” ( 1997), has made an indelible mark on Hollywood with such ambitious endeavors as “The Devil’s Backbone” (2001), “Hellboy II: The Golden Army” (2008), “Pacific Rim” (2013) and “Crimson’s Peak” ( 2015). An Oscar winner, del Toro’s most recognized films are “Pan’s Labyrinth” (2006), “The Shape of Water” (2017), “Nightmare Alley” (2021) and “Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” ( 2022), for which he is nominated for nine awards, including Best Picture and Director. He is the first director of an animated feature to be nominated by the organization. The Latino Entertainment Journalists Association congratulates the Mexican auteur and looks forward to more stunning work throughout his career.”

The full list of winners is below.

best picture

“Everything Everywhere All At Once” (A24) — Daniel Kwan, Mike Larocca, Daniel Scheinert, Jonathan Wang

best director

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, “Everything Everything All at One” (A24)

Actor in a leading role

Colin Farrell, “The Banshees of Inishreen” (Searchlight Pictures)

Actress in a leading role

Michelle Yeh, “Everything Everywhere All at Once” (A24)

Supporting actor

Ke Hui Quan, “Everything Everywhere All at One” (A24)

Supporting actress

Stephanie Hu, “Everything Everywhere’s All at One” (A24)

Voice or motion capture performance

Jenny Slate, “Marcel the Shell with Shoes On” (A24)

Animated picture

“Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” (Netflix) — Guillermo del Toro (Director, Producer), Mark Gustafson (Director), Alexander Bulkley, Corey Campodonico, Lisa Henson, Gary Unger (Producer)

Non-English language films

“Bardo, Chronicle of a Handful of Lies” (Mexico) – Alejandro G. Iñárritu (Director)

Documentary feature

“Fire of Love” (National Geographic Films/Neon) — Sarah Dosa (director, producer), Shane Boris, Ina Fichman (producer)

Original screenplay

“Everything Everything at Once” (A24) – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert

Adapted screenplay

“Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio” (Netflix) — Guillermo del Toro, Matthew Robbins, Grace Grimley, Patrick Hale (based on the characters and novel by Carlo Collodi)

Ensemble Casting

“Everything Everything All at One” (A24) – Sarah Finn

Production and set design

“Everything Everyone’s All at Once” (A24) – Jason Isverde (Production Designer), Kelsey Ephraim (Set Decorator)


“Top Gun: Maverick” (Paramount Pictures) – Claudio Miranda

costume design

“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” (Marvel Studios) – Ruth E. carter


“Everything Everything All at One” (A24) – Paul Rogers

Hair and makeup design

“Everything Everything at Once” (A24) – Michelle Chung (Head of Makeup Department), Anissa Salazar (Head of Hair Department)


“Top Gun: Maverick” (Paramount Pictures) — Mark Weingarten (production sound mixer), James H. Mather, Al Nelson (supervising sound editor), Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor (re-recording mixer)

Visual effects

“Avatar: The Way of Water” (20th Century Studios) – Joe Lettari, Richard Baneham, Eric Sendon, Daniel Barrett

Stunt design

“Top Gun: Maverick” (Paramount Pictures)

Musical score

“The Batman” (Warner Bros.) – Michael Giacchino

Best Song Written for a Film

“Lift Me Up” from “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” (Marvel Studios) – “Lift Me Up” by Thames, Ludwig Goransson, Rihanna and Ryan Coogler

2023 Rita Moreno Lifetime Achievement Award

Guillermo del Toro

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *