October 25, 2021


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

Guadalajara 2021 Awards, ‘Comedian,’ ‘Plaza Catedral’

4 min read

Laughter, tears, a lot of hugs and a celebration of the return of watching Al Vivo movies, 36M The Guadalajara International Film Festival (FICG) concludes with the presentation of a long list of awards from many of Latin America’s top filmmakers, many of whose names are well-known throughout Mexico and the region and whose names will, no doubt, be well-known in the future.

In contrast to the movie, Rodrigo Guardiola and Gabriel Nancy’s “The Comedian”, a film of utter failure, won the Best Picture award of the year, with Cinematographer Mario Seco winning the Best Cinematography award for his work in the movie. .

“It’s great that this movie exists,” Nunsio said at the event. “The truth is, I’ve been able to work with very talented people in this movie and I think that’s the only reason I’m here. And I hope they put this video on YouTube because I want to dedicate this award to my mother.

This year’s Audience Award went to Royal Raman’s “Poderoso Victoria”, a century-old drama about the city of mines.

“Actually making films in Mexico, and this last stage of the epidemic has put us in an unprecedented situation,” Raman said. “I can only thank FICG for recognizing the work of our team. I thank my team for the support and passion that they wrote, filmed and released this film. Hopefully we’ll be back in theaters soon! ”

Leading actors Ilse Salas and Fernando Xavier de Casta won the Best Actress of the Night award for their work in Abner Benaim’s “Plaza Cathedral” Comes to the intelligent teenager who pressures him to pay security to see his car. He tries his best to avoid the young man, until he appears at his door with a gunshot wound.

Tragically, the non-professional actor who played the lead character was killed in an incident of gang violence a few months before the film’s premiere, which meant Benaim had to take action and tearfully accept recognition on behalf of the young man.

Lazy loaded pictures

Plaza Cathedral
Appartura Films

The animated feature “My Sunny Mad” continues its subtle form, winning the award for Best International Animated Feature, before winning a jury award at the world’s most prestigious animation festival, Annecy, held in June. The Brazilian Clemson feature “Bob Spit: We Don’t Like People,” is another respectable mention by Annecy Stand.

Attendance and participation in Latin America’s largest and most prestigious festival has increased significantly compared to last year’s covid-infested festival. The next year’s edition promises a bigger and bigger industry team as buyers, sellers and regional film commissions and production houses work on a new facility to build a larger film market.

The awards ceremony was presented after the Mexican premiere by George Guterres, creator-presenter of the two episodes of the upcoming animated Netflix release “Maya and the Three”, who also hosted a masterclass at this year’s festival.

Lazy loaded pictures


This year’s festival featured 164 film screenings, of which 96 were in competition. About 1,600 recognized guests attended and 390 journalists from 140 media outlets personally covered the event. Meanwhile, nearly 1,000,000 people have tuned in to watch the stream on the FICG YouTube channel, with one-quarter of the videos posted on the festival’s Facebook page busy.

2021 Guadalajara International Film Festival Award winner

Primio Mejkal

The best Mexican movies

“Comedian” (Rodrigo Guardiola, Gabriel Nuncio)


“Nos Hicieron Noche” (Antonio Hernandez)


Mario Seko, (“comedian”)


Ilse Salas (“Plaza Cathedral”)


Fernando Xavier de Casta (“Plaza Cathedral”)

Primio Maggie (LGBTQ +)


“Our Body is Your Battlefield” (Isabella Solas)

Jury Prize

“Toby Cigini” (Alexa Baconi)


Lara Tremorox (“Medusa”)

Feature documentary Iberoamericano

The best picture

“The Sky Is Red” (Francina Cornell)

Honorable mention

“Wallace de Santo Domingo” (Tatiana Fernandez Giara)


Luiz Bolognese (“Ultima Floresta”)


Eric Roca, Jorge Chechill (“Edna”)

Ibero-American feature-fiction

The best picture

“Miss Harmanso Suenan Depiartos” (Claudia Huiakimil)


Sergio Armstrong (“Inmarshan”)


Maria Romanilos (“Las Consequences”)


Evan Caceres (“Miss Hermanos Suenan Desperatos”)


Claudia Huiaquimila, Pablo Green (“Miss Harmano Suenan Desperatos”)


Nicholas Postiglion (“Inmarshan”)

Debut feature

Immersed by Nicholas Postiglion

Audience Award

“Poderoso Victoria” (Raul Raman)

Premio Mejkal Joven

The best picture

“Dirty Feathers” (Carlos Alfonso Coral)

Honorable mention

“Mostro” (Jose Pablo Escamila)

Primio Heco en Jalisco (made in Jalisco)

“Domingo” (Raul Lopez Ichevaria)

Honorable mention

“La Levada and La Tride” (Ophelia Medina)

Ibero-American shorts

“Before I Die” (Iker Estiberlanda)

Honorable mention

“Manchester Actitla” (Selma Cervantes)

International animated features

The best feature

“My Sunny Mad” (Mechela Pavlatova)

Honorable mention

“Bob Spit: We Don’t Like People” (Caesar Cabral)

Primio International Rigo Mora for animated shorts

“Bastia” (Hugo Covarubius)

Honorable mention

“Steakhouse” (Spella Cadage)

Lazy loaded pictures

My Sunny Mad
Credit: Annecy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *