September 20, 2021


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

Joe Trohman, Brian Posen, Heavy Metal Team for ‘The X’ Comic Book

2 min read

Fallout Boy guitarist Joe Trohmann and actor Brian Poshen (“The Sarah Silverman Program,” “The Big Bang Theory”) have teamed up with Heavy Metal Magazine to create a new comic book series, “The X”, coming out in early 2022.

A horror-comedy adventure, “The Ax” follows three stupid, skatepunk, metalhead teenagers who steal an old, cursed guitar that opens the portal to an intimen dimensional hell-scape called Sheol. Trying to get back on earth, kids must fight the horrible ancient creatures. According to the press release, it has been combined with “The Gundis” like “Army of Darkness”.

“We’ve put horror and heavy metal music in a blender with kids we like as our protagonists and come up with the perfect combo to collaborate with Heavy Metal Magazine,” Posen said.

Added Trohmann: “Ax combines two of my favorite things – horror and comedy – but it has a heart. We deliberately put the book across the contents of broken childhood, abandonment and coming of age, and I’m proud of the dimensions in this story. But interestingly, “What we’ve been able to do by pushing the gore, the jokes, the darkness, is just what I really wanted to do at a wish-fulfillment level. I’m really, really grateful that Heavy Metal wanted to take this one swing. I’m thrilled to see it come alive on the page.”

Posen and Trohman also recruited Scott Koblish (“Deadpool,” “Anthrax: The Living”) as the painter, while Diego Fichera would paint “The Ax.”

Heavy Metal Magazine is currently creating “The X” as a screen adaptation as part of a slate of original IP-based projects.

The origins of the story “The X” were first captured in the heavy metal audio drama podcast, “Wonderwork”, in the episode titled “Ax Origins”, written and directed by Trohman and featuring Posen as the main narrator, with music by Trohman and Matthew Medney. Trohman also hosts and produces the heavy metal podcast “I Hate Myself”, a replica series focusing on mental health, featuring explicit interviews with high-profile actors, writers and art creators.

“The X” will premiere as a serial in Heavy Metal Magazine in early 2022 and then it will be collected as a comic book series and eventually as a trade paperback.

See the first look image of the comic series below.

Lazy loaded pictures

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *