January 31, 2023


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

Jonathan Majors and Michael De Luca will be honored at the Texas Film Awards

2 min read

The Austin Film Society will honor Jonathan Majors, Michael De Luca and Janet and John Pearson at the 21st Annual Texas Film Awards on March 3 at Willie Nelson’s Luck Ranch outside Austin, Tex.

Major (“The Last Black Man in San Francisco,” “Da 5 Bloods”) will receive the Rising Star Award, while De Luca, co-chair and CEO of Warner Bros. Pictures Group, will be honored for his influence worldwide as the “first couple” of independent cinema. Pearson will be inducted into the Texas Film Hall of Fame and will be celebrated for their contributions to the independent film industry and their impact on Austin and Texas, helping to grow the SXSW Film & TV Festival.

Texas native Eddie Patterson (“Knife Out,” “The Righteous Gemstones,” “Vice Principal”) will serve as master of ceremonies.

Major stars in the upcoming Marvel movie “Ant Man and the Wasp: Quantummania” with Paul Rudd, opening Feb. 17, as well as Ryan Coogler’s “Creed III” Michael B. Unlike Jordan, premiering on March 3

A respected producer and executive, De Luca has been nominated three times for the Academy Award for Best Picture (“The Social Network,” “Moneyball,” “Captain Phillips”). He is a three-time Emmy nominee and up for four PGA Awards.

Janet and John Pearson’s early work as exhibitors and financiers helped usher in a new wave of independent films. Now, Janet serves as Emeritus Director of SXSW, and John teaches a master class at the University of Texas at Austin.

Tickets and tables for the Texas Film Awards are now available for purchase on the Austin Film Society website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *