September 18, 2021


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

Khalid, Post Malone, Halsey Win Big – Variety at BMI Pop Awards

3 min read

Co-authored by Delisi, Khalid and Post Malone won the Song of the Year at the 2020 BMI Music Awards, in line with Halcy’s Composer of the Year and Halcy’s “Without Me.” Sony / ATV Music has won the award as a publisher for the eighth time.

BMI also celebrated the lyricists and publishers of fifty of the most edited pop songs last year. This year’s group of honorees includes 47 first-time BMI pop award winners, who have collectively performed more than 25 million songs. Among the honored songs is Taylor Swift’s “ME!” (Fame. Panic’s Brendon Uri! The Disco) Grammy Award-winning Joel Little’s “R-Ring” co-written by Tela Parks, Michael Foster and Kidance, top charting single “Sucker” co-written by Mostafa Ahmed, Adam ” Frank Dukes co-wrote and performed music by Fenny, Homer Steinweiss and Jonas Brothers, co-wrote and co-starred with John Ryan and hitmaker Charlie Puth, Marshmallow’s “Happy,” which peaked at number 9 on the US Dance / Electronic Song Chart. . Additional awardees include P! NK, Camilla Cabello, Billy Ray Cyrus, Teddy Geezer, Lady Gaga, Lizo, Baji, Ricky Reed, Young Thug, Mark Ronson and many more.

In honor of these achievements, BMI has created a special page on its website where fans can watch video messages, listen to award-winning music and learn more about their favorite pop lyricists. For more information on BMI’s top pop lyricists, visit

“We are very proud to recognize BMI’s unparalleled family of pop lyricists and music publishers, whose talent, originality and creativity inspired most of last year’s popular music,” says Barbara Kane, Global Creative Vice President. “” With their unique artistic and fearless authenticity, their music has the power to inspire, uplift and empower us to drive the positive change we need right now. We thank our music makers community for sharing their lyric gift and we look forward to celebrating in person with everyone at next year’s event.

The awards for best lyricist of the year were shared by global superstars Khalid and Post Malone, who each wrote the song for BMI’s 2019 Best Performance. Khalid’s “Beautiful People,” “Even Better”, “Eastside” and “Talk” airplanes predominate, and Post Malone’s “Goodbyes,” “Jackie Chan,” “Sunflower” and “Wow” charts as well. Khalid’s “Talk” has garnered 186 million streams on Spotify and earned him a Grammy nomination for Record of the Year, his sixth to date. Post Malone teamed up with BMI colleague Soya Lee for “Sunflower”, which reached number one on the Billboard Hot 100 and topped the top ten for a total of 33 weeks. The single received a two-year Grammy nomination for Record of the Year and Best Pop Double / Group Performance. Post Malone was named BMI’s R&B / Hip-Hop lyricist in 2019.

The “Weed Me Me” break-break song, co-written by pop power house Halsey and singer / songwriter Desley, honored Haley with her sixth BMI Pop Award and first place for Delessie in the Song of the Year. The song has been singled out at No. 1 in Halsey as the top performer.

Sony / ATV Music Publishing has won the Honorary Publisher of the Year award for the eighth time. The publishing giant performed 25 of last year’s top 50 songs, including “Dancing with a Stranger”, “High Hops”, “Old Town Road (Remix)”, “Siorita,” “Truth Hearts” and “You Need to Calm “,” Among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *