October 16, 2021


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

Mike Downey, chairman of the European Film Academy, is honored with the Prague Award

2 min read

Producer and chair of the European Film Academy Mike Downey is being honored with the Christian Lifetime Achievement Award at the Prague International Film Festival – FeboFest.

Oscar-nominated and BAFTA-winning British filmmaker Stephen Daldry will present the award at the opening ceremony of the festival on Friday. This honor is in recognition of Downey’s service to cinema.

Downey was co-founded in 2000 with Samantha Taylor, a production partner of Film and Music Entertainment (F&M). He has more than 100 producer credits, including Agniska Holland’s “Charlatan” and Fatmir Kosi’s “Elvis Walks Home”.

From a humanitarian point of view, Downey was part of the International Risk (ICFR) Filmmakers’ Launch Team at the 2020 Venice Film Festival. .

“We are all facing that difficult time,” Downey said, adding that there are two major international tsunamis of human rights violations in Myanmar and Afghanistan. So I want to accept this award and dedicate it to those filmmakers who are still imprisoned in Myanmar. The February coup this year has trapped hundreds of artists and we all have to work tirelessly to free them. But equally, I want to dedicate it to all the filmmakers hiding in Afghanistan. Waiting in the most difficult and dangerous situation, finding a way out of a place that has become hell for them after 20 years of relative freedom of thought and expression.

ICFR is also working on the Censorship and Good Chance Theater index, which recently wrote letters to the British government from artists, writers and filmmakers who are based in Afghanistan and face an uncertain future outside the safe path of the Taliban.

In the letter, Riz Ahmed, Siddique Barmak, Hugh Bonneville, Barbara Brockley, Benedict Cumberbatch, Stephen Daldry, Jane Featherstone, Colin Firth, Stephen Fry, Paul Greengrass, Afua Hirs, Asif Kapadia, Keira Knightrey and many others are famous. Majumdar, Mohsen Makhmalbaf, Ian McKellen, Sam Mendes, Sophie Okondo, Mark Rylans, Mira Sayal, Emelda Stanton, Tom Stoppard, Emma Thompson, Emma Watson and David Yates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *