February 3, 2023


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

National Society of Film Critics 2022: Complete list of winners

2 min read

It was a rare hat trick victory for Todd Field’s “Tár,” as the drama added a best picture win from the National Society of Film Critics on Saturday. Following its prestigious wins from the Los Angeles Film Critics Association and the New York Film Critics Circle this season, it is one of the few movies to win the trifecta of Best Picture awards from all three major critics organizations.

The last films to win NSFC, NYFCC and LAFVA were Ryûsuke Hamaguchi’s “Drive My Car” (2021), David Fincher’s “The Social Network” (2010) and Kathryn Bigelow’s “The Hurt Locker” (2009), all of which were nominated for Best Picture. . Bigelow’s film claims to win the Academy’s top category.

But it wasn’t just the movie celebrating the three-peat, with “Tar” star Cate Blanchett and “Everything Everything All at Once” sensation Kay Huey Kwan, winning three lead actress and supporting actor trophies, respectively.

“His” also won for best screenplay for Fields, a runner-up co-starring fellow actress hopeful Nina Hoss. Blanchett and Field were both of diversity Covered this last week.

Colin Farrell and Kerry Condon extend their lead lengths, picking up lead actor and supporting actress for their performances in Martin McDonagh’s “The Banshees of Inishrein.” Pharrell’s win coincided with his other acclaimed turn in Cogonada’s “After Young.”

Laura Poitras’ “All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” earned another nod on the critics’ circuit, winning best documentary from the awards organization.

A24’s ongoing independent drama “Aftersun” continues to go from strength to strength with first-time filmmaker Charlotte Wells taking the directing award ahead of Park Chan-wook for “Decision to Leave.” This comes after its strong showing in the BAFTA longlist; “Avatar: The Way of Water” and “Woman Talking.”

Poland’s intimate donkey tale “EO” won two awards for Best Non-English Film and Best Cinematography for Michał Dymek. This coming week is the most important of the awards season with the Golden Globes and critics’ choice shows being announced this week with the DGA and SAG nominations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *