January 31, 2023


Today's News Headlines, Breaking News & Latest News from India and World, News from Politics, Sports, Business, Arts and Entertainment

Songwriters Hall of Fame 2023 Class: Sade, Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan

3 min read

Sade Adu, Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan, Electric Light Orchestra mastermind Jeff Lynne, Alanis Morissette collaborator Glenn Ballard, New Jack swing icon Teddy Riley and Taylor Swift collaborator Liz Rose will be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the organization’s annual induction and 5Indu5. . Awards Gala. The event is scheduled for Thursday, June 15, at his longtime home at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York.

Among them, the songwriters’ “Smooth Operator,” “Man in the Mirror,” “Drop It Like It’s Hot,” “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You,” “Mr. Blue Sky,” “My Prerogative,” and “You Belong With Me ” — a partial list of their hits appears below Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

SHOF Chairman Nile Rodgers said, “The music industry does not exist without songwriters first performing great songs. Without them there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merchandise. . . Nothing, it all starts with the song and the lyricist. That’s why we’re so proud that we’re continuing to recognize some of the most culturally important songwriters of all time, and that the 2023 slate includes not only iconic songs but also across genres, races and genders, songwriters who have enriched our lives and, in their time, literally music and billions around the world. transformed the lives of listeners.”

Blondie, REM, the Doobie Brothers, Patti Smith and Stevie Winwood were among the nominees who were not included this year (See the full list of nominees here.)

The Songwriters Hall of Fame is dedicated to recognizing the work and lives of composers and songwriters who create music around the world. A songwriter with a substantial catalog of songs qualifies for inclusion 20 years after a song’s first significant commercial release.

Last year, the event – one of the most unique and star-studded in the music industry – returned after a three-year hiatus due to the pandemic. Mariah Carey, Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart (Eurythmics), the Isley Brothers, Steve Miller, Pharrell Williams and Chad Hugo (Neptunes), Rick Noels, and William “Mickey” Stevenson were inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Songwriter Paul Williams received the prestigious Johnny Mercer Award, Universal Music Publishing chairman-CEO Jody Garson received the Abbey Wollman Publisher Award and rapper Lil Nas x Hal David received the Starlight Award – the first rapper since Drake to receive the honor.

Sade Ginger p/k/a Sade:

* smooth operator * no ordinary love * sweetest taboo * next to you * is it a crime

Glenn Ballard:

* Man in the Mirror * You Should Know * Hold On * Inner Voice * The Space Between

Calvin Broad Jr. p/k/a Snoop Dogg:

* Drop It Like It’s Hot * Nuthin’ But A “G” Thang * Young, Wild and Free * Gin and Juice * Next Episode

Gloria Estefan:

* Something for you * Don’t wanna lose you * Words get in the way * Rhythm’s gonna get you * Let’s get loud

Jeff Lynne:
* Mr. Blue Sky * Don’t Bring Me Down * Wicked Woman * Survival Thing * Telephone Line

Teddy Riley:

* Make It Last Forever * I Want Her * Just Got Paid * I Like * My Privilege

Liz Rose:
* you with me * crazy girl * girl crush * all too well * white horse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *